Julien C. Hyer Youth Camp


The Julien C. Hyer International Youth Camp represents a group of students from countries around the world that participate in a six-week program to expose them to life in Texas through stays in Dallas/Fort Worth, Lake Texoma, San Antonio and Lubbock to promote peace and understanding.

The Julien C. Hyer Lions Youth Camp Board meets at 10:00 AM on the 3rd Saturday of each month (except Nov., Dec., Feb. and July) at the On the Border Mexican Grill and Cantina, 1890 S, Stemmons Fwy, I-35E, Lewisville.  

History of the Camp

The Julien C. Hyer Lions Youth Camp was organized in 1973 and the first camping session was held in 1974. Each year an average of 30 youths (boys and girls) has visited Texas to attend the Julien Hyer Camp. During this time the program has changed slightly but the objective “to foster and create a spirit of understanding among the peoples of the world” remains the same. This Camp gives each attending youth the opportunity to learn about other peoples of the world while visiting Texas and the United States of America.

The Camp is named in honor of Past International President Lion Judge Julien C. Hyer (1931/1932). He was an active Lion for 55 years and distinguished himself as Lion, Attorney, Judge, Writer, Poet, Theologian, Soldier, Father, Husband and as the Founder of the Lions Clubs International Youth Exchange Program. His friendship and love for others is living testimony of the Great Spirit of Lionism. In recognition of our love and respect for him and his priciples, we dedicate this camp, the Julien C. Hyer Lions Youth Camp, in his honor.

Jack Harris Fellowship: $1000
Jimmy Thompson Fellowship: $1000
Life Membership: $125

  Check out the new and improved Julien C Hyer Lion Youth Camp Website: https://sites.google.com/site/julienchyerlionsyouthcamp/home?authuser=0




Officers 2021-22

Office Officer/Term District Member Club
President Karen Murray
(2023 – 2026)
2-X1 Irving Noon Day Lions Club
Vice-President Open
Secretary Karen Bealle
(2022 – 2025)
2-X1 Dallas Park CitiesLions Club
Treasurer PDG Woody Mathews
(2024 – 2027)
2-E2 Fort Worth Founders Lions Club


District 2-E2 Directors 2021-22

Director/Term Member Club
Robert Duckworth
Sherman Evening Lions Club
Richard Walters
Greater Arlington Lions Club
Chris Thuemmel
Benbrook Lions Club
Marcia Mathews
Benbrook Lions Club
PDG Woody Mathews
FW Founders Lions Club
Linda Woodham
River Oaks Lions Club
Carol Ann Beimler
Godley Lions Club
1VDG Michelle Greco
NW Tarrant Lions Club


District 2-X1 Directors 2021-2022

Director/Term Member Club
Erica Bailey
Dallas Park Cities Lions Club
Karen Bealle
Dallas Park Cities Lions Club
David Mills
Duncanville Noon Lions Club
Karen Murray
Irving Noon Day Lions Club
PCC John Landrum
Waxahachie Lions Club
Tony Rodriquez
Allen Community Lions Club
PCS Karen Johnson
Wylie Evening Lions Club
OPEN (2024-2027)
OPEN (2024-2027)
1VDG Kedar Timalsina
Dallas Everest Lions Club